Money ... bleah
Wednesday, Dec. 06, 2006 ~ 1:51 p.m.

first | previous | random | next | last

I don't go into work today until 6pm. I only work 4 and a quarter hours today, but I'm way ahead for this week already. What I do is not what I want to do. I need to just stick it out until February. I think the job market will be opening up at that point.

I can't wait to get our lives back on track. All sorts of negativity has come into our lives as of late. Mike feels as if he keeps getting screwed over at work. He got a notice the other day that his position is not eligible for spiffs and commision because it's a non selling position. He's decided that since he won't be getting anything for it, he's not going to sell appliances and the like. He's going to get another associate to help the customer. I agree with him on that. He didn't get a raise last year at all. He got a pay cut when they cut his position out. It wasn't fair to promote him with a pay cut, but it happened and there's nothing that can be done about that now. I just hope he gets a really good raise this year and sooner rather than later.

We were going to add me to Mike's health insurance, but I can't justify doing that once I found out how much it's going to cost us to do that. His insurance is something around $38 per paycheck (bi weekly). My insurance for the same coverage would be $101 per paycheck. It would be more than double. That's insane especially considering the only thing I really use it for is the yearly womanly check up which out of pocket would be anywhere from $130-$300 (and that's if something were not quite right). If we take that at it's worst and add to it the very tiny deduction the insurance takes off my prescription, by May (when I should be able to get my own insurance if I get a job in February) we're looking at an out of pocket savings of $305 dollars while we're paying almost $1000 for those savings. It's not worth it.

I am glad that our utilities are taken care of by the landlord as part of our rent. That's one thing that I won't have to worry about. For the next few months, credit cards are getting the minimum payments and we'll be doing just the basics.

Christmas this year won't be as much fun. We don't have the money to get gifts for everyone that we'd like to get gifts for, so we're limiting it to the kids in our lives. I've bought things for Lilly and have an idea on what I'm going to get Josh. I've bought two things for Mike, but that will probably be all we have.

I have a strong belief that any money given to us as gifts should be used towards things that we'd like to have as gifts. I don't think that the gift money should be used for bills, but I'm not sure if we're going to have much choice in that aspect. We'll see though.

I'm hoping that Mike can get a part time job and bring in some more money. I'm still dealing when they call and I'm hoping they'll call more often. If I'm kept on at Sears when the Holidays are over, I'm thinking about limiting my availability to Saturday and a few days throughout the week and getting another part time job. I need more money to get back to walking on the water as opposed to just keeping our heads from going under.

Once I pick my ring up from the jewelers loupe, it's time to do without again. It's time to not do any impulse buying. It's time to take my plan and put it into effect and to limit any and all extra things. We're going to have to start watching everything that goes on. We're going to have to evaluate what's really important.

I'm rambling and stuff, so I'm going to not type anymore.

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose