The Accusation (010301)
01-03-01 ~ 20:43:11

first | previous | random | next | last

ahhh . . . what a not so wonderful day . . . it started out fine . . . then Diane showed up at work . . . asked me to go into the office . . . she had to ask me something . . . and I don't think I mentioned the original problem that happened on Jan 1st . . . so I'll briefly describe that . . .

Okay . . . so I was on register and I was accused of stealing a customer's money . . . by the customer . . . . she said she gave me some $70 . . . . when she only gave me $55 . . . so me and someone else counted my drawer . . . and it had what it was supposed to have . . . then she told our spanish speaking associate that I must have put her money in my pockets

The total was $53.something . . . and they originally put down a $20, 2 $10's and a $5 . . . $45 . . . then they picked up the 2 $10's and put down another $20 . . . still $45 . . . so I asked for another $10 . . . to make $55 . . . I rang it, gave her the change and they left . . . about 5 minutes later, she came back, claiming to not speak english, and said she gave me $70 dollars, and that I didn't give her the right change . . . she said that she never gave me a $5 . . . that there were 3 $20's there . . .

So . . . I counted my drawer . . . it balanced . . . I had the acting manager count the drawer too . . . and it balanced . . . both times that we counted it, the customer was right there . . . then she went over to the spanish speaking associate and said that I must have put it in my pocket . . .

So then . . . the next day I processed the bags . . . including mine 'cause I wasn't the only one on the register . . . and it balanced . . . the customer came in, and talked to the manager . . . I had already left for the day, and since I processed the bag, they couldn't prove that I didn't take the money . . . so they gave her the money . . .

and that brings us to today . . . . so in the office . . .

I basically got in trouble for doing something that I've always been allowed to do before and indirectly got accused of taking $15 from a customer . . . who doesn't know the difference between a 5 and a 20 dollar bill . . .

and the one who yelled at me is someone who's a visiting manager at the store . . . we've already had one person quit because of her . . . I almost left today at 9 . . . . and left all my stuff there for someone else to do . . . I wasn't happy . . . she implied theft by saying that because I processed my own bag from the day before (I processed it 'cause there was someone else who rang on the same bag that day and I've always been allowed to process a bag as long as I wasn't the only one on it) they have no way of proving that I didn't take the money . . . even though both myself and the acting manager the day that it happened counted the drawer with the customer there . . . and it counted out fine . . .

I was gonna stay there on weekend . . . but I'm gonna try to get a job at Hot Topic instead for nights and weekends . . . it pays less . . . but the discount will more than make up for it . . . and I was already looking for another daytime job . . .

So . . . after I got home, I started looking in the classifieds for a daytime, office job . . . posted my resume online and applied at a couple different companies . . . . and this evening I went to Hot Topic and put in an application . . . I also put about $90 worth of stuff on layaway . . . but that's alright . . . I think I should be able to get that job . . . 'specially with my three and a half years of retail experience behind me . . .

and that was the whole day . . . . I was told by someone at work that I should have walked out today . . . but I didn't . . .

Until then.

~*~*~*~*~
Hollie
010301
~*~*~*~*~

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose