Floodgate
Monday, Jan. 14, 2002 ~ 8:26 p.m.

first | previous | random | next | last

Talk about a floodgate being opened . . . in two days I've written 4 poems . . . when I haven't been writing in months . . . Nothing real exciting has happened or anything . . . the only thing different that had happened was that Chris had come back, but I don't know why that would cause me to start writing again . . .

C'est la vie.


Shadows of the Past

In the silence I hear everything.
Murmurings and drips
And a constant ringing.

Silence does not exist,
Cannot exist,
Until my mind is silent.

Thoughts and regrets
Constantly voicing themselves,
Echoing through the vaults of my mind.

Shadows of the past coming back,
Living day after day,
Night after night,
Knowing no rest.

Visions of what I want
Stand tainted
By the darkness of negativity,
Blurred and unrecognizable.

Hope for the future,
For things changed,
Smothered by the unchangeable,
And the lingering shadows.

~011302~


Time

Time ticks on.
Seconds and minutes and hours
All melting together.

The endless repetition of light and dark are meaningless
As the days turn into weeks
And weeks turn into months.

The world around me changes,
But my thoughts and feelings stand,
Unable to change,
Drowning in the swirling waters of time.

~011402~


Solemn Elegance

Her constant costume.
A nod, a smile, a wink,
And a little giggle
Here and there.

A performance so they know she's there,
While inside she cries.
Little rivers and a sad song,
Flowing together, trapped within.

Outside, her song is silent,
Rarely any trace of what she feels,
Only a hint here and there,
Only for him to catch.

In a glimpse, he knows her,
Hears her song and sees her tears
He knows what it's like
And now he's not alone.

She sings her silent song to him
And opens her ears for his.
She knows now that she'll let him in.
He'll see what no one sees.

Sadness and solemn elegance,
Hidden beneath her smile.

~011402~


The poem titled Time is actually just the completed version of something I started to write a very long time ago . . . well . . . a few months ago anyway . . . . but for me in writing time . . . that's a very long time . . . *smiles*

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose