Learning stuff...
Thursday, Jan. 15, 2004 ~ 11:26 p.m.

first | previous | random | next | last

I learned stuff today. Yay.

It was a slow day at work so Paul and I put together a hardwood floor display. So that basically means that I got to play with toys. I learned how to use a paslode nailer and a miter saw. And they made me staple all the flooring down with the flooring nailer thingy (yes, technical and all, I know). The guys were giving me a hard time 'cause when I first started I screwed up some, but once I got the hang of it, it was much easier. They were still giving me a hard time though. But that's what they do best I guess.

So, yeah, I learned stuff.

Oh, and Tuesday, shortly after I got in, Michelle (our HR manager) paged me and asked me to go back to the office. I got there and Que was in there too. I thought that was a little odd, but I wasn't worried. I knew I hadn't done anything to warrant firing or anything that would require a meeting with the store manager and the HR manager.

They were interviewing me for a department manager position. That was totally unexpected. There were two other people interviewed as well and had I known who the other two were at the time, I would have told them that I would rather wait than be promoted. Ronda was also interviewed (as was Ron Buck, but he was no competiton at all for Ronda and I). When they told me that I hadn't gotten it, but Ronda had, I was very happy. Especially this morning when I found out that she would be our new department manager. Now I know that I'll learn the things that I don't know so that next time I can get the promotion.

I wasn't really sure about giving up my lovely 10-7 schedule anyway.

I think they expected me to be more disappointed than I was because Jeff had this almost scared look when he got to tell me I didn't get it. It was amusing.

Blah blah blah.

I need some chocolate. Maybe I'll get some tomorrow.

Daniel has an interview tomorrow. I'm hoping that it goes well.

I'm watching/listening to Pirates of the Carribean. I just absolutely love Johnny Depp.

Anyway, I polyurethaned some boxes tonight and now I'm a little sleepy. I think I may go to bed now.... maybe.

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose