Hi, adoption and nothing
Saturday, Mar. 09, 2002 ~ 11:23 p.m.

first | previous | random | next | last

I'm sleepy again.

I should probably change my imood thingy to sleepy, but I probably won't 'cause I'm still feeling somewhat "quiet".

As I mentioned yesterday, I was supposed to go to some selling skills classes today and tomorrow for work. Ricky picked me up right on time and we headed over there. On weekends there's always orientation classes, so there were a bunch of people there. Anyway, we go into the building and the receptionist has absolutely no clue that there's a second class today.

The only people who showed up for the class were the two of us and two other people from our store. We all sat around in the lobby area for about an hour and a half until someone finally figured out what was going on.

Basically, there was no class this weekend and somehow the message never got passed on to our store.

Funny how that happens sometimes.


I'm starting to think that there's just some days when there's just nothing to say. Those are the days that you just have to keep going on and on until finally you get around whatever block may be there and everything comes out.

When I got bored one day and decided to call all sorts of people I hadn't talked to in ages (or perhaps never talked to), I ended up talking to Jason. I know I've mentioned Jason in here before. He was my internet "love," but that's besides the point. The point that I was getting at was that when I talked to him, he told me that he had thought about calling me a time or two, but he could never think of any reason to do so. "There was nothing to say" he said.

My response to that was "You could always say hi." And that's true. From "hi" you can go anywhere. Maybe the person you say hi to has something that they're thinking about, they'll tell you about it, and you'll end up talking about stuff you never even dreamed of.

All because you thought to say "hi."


Yeah, talk about random.

I talked to my dad today. He wanted to ask me what I thought about an inside sales job when I move to DE. Inside sales wouldn't be too bad for me actually. I scored really high on my data entry skills tests and it would be the office job that I wanted about a year ago.

I just don't know if I want an office job now. Maybe if I was still a cashier at work I'd love to have an office job, but I really, really like what I'm doing. I might like it even more once I start teaching the faux painting classes.

The good thing about the Inside Sales position is that it's at my dad's company. Therefore, I'd be able to see him a lot more than I would otherwise. Especially considering the fact that I wanted to take on two jobs. I think it'd be good for him too.

As I grew up, he always used to ask me if I wanted to come live with him instead of my mother, and I couldn't think of doing that. Of course when my stepdad asked to adopt me I couldn't think of doing that either. If I would have done that I would have felt like I was disowning my dad, and there was no reason for me to do that. It wasn't as if he never tried to be there, or he always forgot to call me. He's always been there.

But, being the chicken that I am, I didn't want to hurt my stepdad. I never gave him an answer and he never brought it up again. I think he probably understood. At least I hope he did.

I realize now (a few years later) that not saying anything at all probably wasn't the best way to deal with the situation, but there's not a lot to do about it now. I'm 22 and I'm my own guardian and such now. I don't think anyone can adopt me now, but I could be wrong.

But, yeah.

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose