kicking my ass
Thursday, Mar. 20, 2003 ~ 8:09 a.m.

first | previous | random | next | last

This week is just kicking my ass . . . I'm supposed to close at work today, but I was called at 7 and told that Phil called out which means that I have to go in early, and stay 'til I'm supposed to . . . why? . . . Karen probably won't be showing up and Steve can't close alone. Yay me . . . . and I wrote this entry last night:

10:13 March 19th

Ugh. The news is on the TV at the moment. You know, announcing that we're going to war, blah blah blah. I hate how they put things when trying to justify fighting and killing.

Normally I wouldn't talk about anything to do with politics or politics related, but this just bothers me, and aparently I'm not alone in that thinking since there are protests against this all over the place. I don't know. I'm thinking that Bush has let the "power" go to his head. I think that he wouldn't feel so confident if he hadn't gotten such an opportunity to do good right at the beginning of his term. If what had happened, happened closer to the end of his term, we probably would have had a good idea what sort of president he really was. As it stands though, Sept. 11th blinded us in a way. The only good thing that it did was give us a sense of "togetherness" and "pride," but in doing so, we became way too focused on things that are outside of this country. I don't think that Sadam would have been as much of a "threat" if we didn't keep hounding him.

And then the scare tactics are something totally different. By scare tactics I'm talking about the announcment about the plastic and the duct tape. They said that it's to give people a sense of security and to make them feel less helpless, but really, it made people worry. It made people buy more things that they didn't need. Hell, we had someone who wanted clear plastic so that she could seal up her car.

*grumbles*

I guess all of this just frustrates me to no end. Why do we have to send people over to fight? Why can't we just learn that it never helps anything? They talk about not wanting to kill innocent people, but what are we doing? I'm sure that none of the people who are going to war actually did anything wrong. You know that all the decision making people, the ones that did do something wrong, aren't going to be anywhere near the fighting. That just means that everyone who dies in this war is an innocent. And I'm damn sure that no one who's being forced to fight on either side really want to be there.

I hate this, I hate this, I hate this. Yeah, lets go kick the shit out of someone and then they'll let go of any hatred they have and behave. Fucking religious differences. That's what makes it impossible for countries to work things out peacefully. Especially the "east" vs "west" conflicts.

If I could tell this government one thing (and not just Bush, 'cause we're always doing it, that's why we're in this mess) it would be to keep your damn nose out of other people's business.

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose