Orientation
04-01-01 ~ 5:56 p.m.

first | previous | random | next | last

*shivers* . . .

it's almost spring . . . well, maybe it is spring . . . I don't know . . . .I do know that it's now April . . . why the hell am I cold? . . . This is southern California . . . we're not supposed to get cold

Okay . . . so maybe I'm just spoiled . . .

Well . . . *erases the "maybe"* . . . I'm just spoiled

I used to love cold . . . windy rainy cold . . . actually . . . I still love that type of cold . . .

*looks out her window seeing just grey, and not even really seeing clouds*

This though . . . well, it's not too bad . . . but a fire would be nice . . . . a fire . . . someone to cuddle up with . . . or just a nice warm blanket and a good book . . . or my cats . . .

I miss my cats.


Today was a good day . . . even though I only got about 5 hours of sleep . . . if that . . . actually . . . I think I woke up about an hour before my alarm . . .

Anyway . . . we had interesting "instructors" at orientation today . . .

Orientation is mainly a series of basic classes about Home Depot . . . so they have different assistant managers come in and teach certain sections of the orientation.

Usually there's only two instructors per day, but today, there was one in the morning and three in the afternoon . . . one of the three this afternoon was Dan . . . the assistant manager incharge of my department in my store . . . he's cool . . . and he already knows my name . . . so that's good

I guess now is a good time to type out the little blurbs of stuff I wrote during orientation.

March 31, 2001 ~ 9:15am

Orientation is pretty . . . well . . . boring actually . . . A lot of what is being "taught" here, I already know. Mainly because my dad worked for the company and I had attended some of the store meetings.

I remember one meeting/party for celebrating some store opening. I want to say that it was the 600th store, but I don't remember.

~ 10:10am

We just had break - I moved my car a little closer to where we're at.

Our orientation "instructor" (Chris Donckels) sorta looks like Daniel. He reminds me of someone else too, but I really can't think of who it is.

There's a lot of company pride. That's good . . . I remember when my dad and I used to drive past Home Base and he used to cross his fingers and hiss at the store.

Now that Home Base is out, Lowe's is the main "target." They mentioned how people used to go to the Lowe's parking lot and do Home Depot cheers.

I thought that was rather amusing.

~ 1:15pm

We've got a new "instructor" (Kevin Hopp). He doesn't seem like he's as interesting as Chris. And . . . I'm so very bored. Again, I can't really seem to keep my mind on any one thing. Blah Blah

April 1, 2001 ~ 11:45am

Orientation seems to be going faster. Jeff (Buck) is a very interesting speaker. That, and we went over benefits. (Benefits are very much of interest to me . . .mainly the stock program and the paid time off)

Part time gets vacation and sick pay . . . yay.

I'm still not feeling wonderful . . .still kinda bleh . . . but I can at least keep my mind on one thing instead of just flitting from thought to thought.

~ 12:20pm

Yay . . . my "boss" Dan (Schneid) is here for this part of the orientation. I know this'll be interesting 'cause he's a fun guy.

Anything that's in parenthasis is something that I added just now . . . I was too lazy to break the color code and restart it . . . .

The other two guys that were there for the second half were our district safety manager, Jeff Hulson and another store's asst manager, Donn Silvis.

I guess names aren't really all that important . . . but it'll help me remember them . . . .

Oh . . . and today . . . the really cute guy talked to me . . . I talked back of course . . . nothing in particular . . . it was pretty much . . . "having fun yet?" . . . me: "oh yeah . . . always" . . .then my little smile thing that I do . . . . his name's Chad by the way . . . incase any of you were interested . . .

But that's about all that's new . . . I have one more day of orientation . . . 5 hours . . . then two days off . . . then two full days of cashier college . . . then the weekend off . . . then three more full days of Cashier College . . .

Oh . . . and I get my first paycheck on Friday . . . yay me . . .

But I'm gonna go now.

Until then.

~*~*~*~*~
Hollie
040101
~*~*~*~*~

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose