The gap, a dream and Saturday-8
Monday, Apr. 08, 2002 ~ 9:27 p.m.

first | previous | random | next | last

Alright. I know it's been a while, and I did mean to write in here a couple of times over the weekend, but it just didn't happen. It's not really that I was lazy or anything. I just couldn't write. I know I sat here looking at this page on two separate days this weekend and nothing seemed to want to be said.

Maybe that's 'cause I didn't do anything really exciting at all. I only worked, then Saturday I went over to Alicia's house and watched Thirteen Ghosts. They had some neat stuff in that movie and I want that glass house, but that's me.

I came home today and slept. I'm not going to be going to sleep early tonight at all, but that's alright 'cause I've got 6 new movies, 4 of which I haven't seen at all yet.

While I was sleeping this afternoon/evening, I had another very detailed dream. It was almost entirely about work, and I can't remember all of it, but there are bits and pieces here and there . . .

I remember that I went shopping for something really little and ended up buying not only a TV, but also a VCR and a DVD player.

The most interesting work part (and the only part I can remember) went something like this:

I was working in the paint center and I had to go off to get something real quick. While I was away, Scott pulled a ladder into the center to get something down from some shelves (that aren't really there at work). Apparently he didn't know that I'm coming back, and just started dropping some really heavy boxes down from the top of the ladder.

For some reason I didn't see him doing this (or he didn't drop the first one until I was almost there), and I just barely noticed it coming down. I shielded with my hand and jumped back. Unfortunately the box did hit my hand and it didn't really hurt, but I was mad. I take a look at my poor pinky finger and it looked as if it was broken.

It was twisted and, somehow, I was still able to bend it. When I did, it crossed over with my ring finger 'cause it was so badly twisted. I knew then that it was broken. I started to wonder why I had always been afraid to break something if it didn't really hurt and I figured that I'd call Alicia after I was off and get her to take me to the hospital.

But yeah. I think I'll be a lot more careful around Scott from now on. Wouldn't want him dropping anything on my head . . . or hands.

*next subject*

I went to read Christine's diary today and she had up a list of questions that she got from a (semi-)new diary, Saturday 8 and it looked kinda neat. I'll probably start answering those questions once a week. Just out of boredom if nothing else.

Basically the site was inspired by Friday Five which puts up a list of questions every week.

I've always loved Surveys, so this is just a new form . . . yay me.

Here goes.


best friends

  1. Do you have anyone that you consider your best friend(s)?

    I do. There's four of them really, and only two of them live in the same general area. Sabrina, by far has been my oldest "best friend." Her and I have known each other since grade school, right after I moved back from England. Erin and I met during my Senior year of high school and are now the only two that have kept in touch out of the group we used to hang out with. Erin and I met Karen at work the year after high school. They're friends, but Karen and I get along extremely well. Then there's Alicia who I met through work here.

  2. If so, when did you know or at what moment did you know this was a special friendship?

    Basically I never really have lots and lots of people I consider friends and I tend to get close to very few. There's never really a "moment," just a bond, whether it takes time or it's instantaneous.

  3. Have you ever stopped talking to or broke a relationship off with a best friend? Why?

    Yes, and it wasn't really my choice, but it kinda was. I guess I'll go into it here.

    When I lived in Northern California, my best friend (apart from Sabrina) was a guy that I had known for a very long time. This wasn't a strange relationship or anything. There was actually three of us that were really really close. Me, and two guys. So basically, over time I grew extremely fond of the one I was closest to. We did everything together.

    When I moved to San Diego, I cried, but I "realized" what I felt. I went back to visit a few times and after the second time, I sent him a letter letting him know what I thought I felt.

    It either scared him, or something else was going on (there was a something else, but I didn't find out about it {drugs} until a year or so ago). The distance between us grew exponentially and eventually I got fed up and sent him a letter saying that if he wanted it, I'd stop writing. All he had to do to make me stop was to keep up what he had been doing in response to my letters and calls. . . Nothing. And that's what he did.

    You can read a paper on it here. I wrote it for a poetry class of mine.

  4. If your best friend is from childhood, are you two similar in personalities or like night and day?

    Sabrina and Erin's personalities are quite different from each other's and different from mine. Karen and Alicia's personalities are much more similar to mine than the other two. The first two are more of the type to like a lot of friends around. Or at least a lot of female friends around. Karen, Alicia and myself are more the type to have one or two close female friends and if we have to be around a lot of friends, we prefer the majority of them to be male. We're just more comfortable that way I think.

  5. Have you ever had a crush on a best friend ? (this could be past or current, same sex or not)

    See answer to number three.

  6. If you have several best friends or a group of close friends: does everybody get along or they a little jealous of each other? Do you know why?

    Like I said in the first question, none of them really live near each other (I've moved around a lot). Sabrina lives in South Dakota. Erin and Karen live in North San Diego County. Alicia lives here with me. Erin's met Sabrina and gets along with her fairly well I think. Erin and Karen get along well, and I'm almost positive that Alicia would get along with Erin and Karen, but I'm not so sure about Sabrina.

  7. Without revealing too much, write about an experience where your best friend has pulled your butt outta big trouble or vice versa.

    You know, I can't think of anything that I've really done that someone's had to pull me out of, and I haven't really had a chance to pull someone else's butt outta trouble. Unless you count paying a traffic ticket for one of my friends so she didn't get into trouble.

  8. Are you a good friend to your best friend?

    I think so, but lately I've been really irritable because of my moods. I'm more of the "ear that listens" and even when I'm irritable, I can still do that well.

Submitted to Saturday 8 by Calynda.

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose