Fear and "Natural" Selection
Saturday, Apr. 20, 2002 ~ 10:17 p.m.

first | previous | random | next | last

Fear
  1. How would you describe fear?

    Fear is the feeling you get deep inside. I could describe it as sweaty palms and a racing heart, but that can also be the description of other emotions too. So I won't do that.

    It's a feeling that can never be faked. It's when you've got that feeling that someone's watching you from the darkened window of the old house, yet you can't see them. It's when you feel helpless and alone and you really just want to curl up and ignore the outside world.

  2. Do you tend to fear more imaginary and abstract things, such as things under the bed, or do you get more scared thinking of realistic things, such as diseases and people breaking in to your house?

    I'm not spooked easily. In fact, I enjoy the unexplained, the "things under the bed." Diseases don't really scare me due to my fairly unpopular views on sickness and violence. Things like people breaking into my house do frighten me a little, but not much because I'm in denial. I'm one of those that thinks that "it can never happen to me" even though someone did break into our house when I lived in San Diego. No one was home then, perhaps that's why it doesn't scare me.

  3. What are some things you use to combat fear?

    Disbelief is the biggest one. Strangely enough, the other is belief. I'm not religious, so that's not the sort of belief that I'm talking about. Belief in myself is what I'm talking to, and that's more in reference to a fear of rejection.

  4. Do you enjoy things we do to cause ourselves fear, such as haunted houses, scary movies, and bungee jumping?

    I love all of the above, but I haven't tried bungee jumping, so I can't say that I'd love that. I can't say that I'd try that either. The reason being is that I'm afraid to get hurt. Not really afraid, but I just don't want to get hurt, and with bungee jumping, there's a chance of getting seriously hurt.

  5. Have you ever helped another person work to overcome some fear? If so, how?

    Unfortunately, I can't say that I have. If I have, I don't know about it.

  6. What is a fear that you feel you have overcome (or nearly overcome)?

    I'm getting much better about my fear of rejection. I can tell because I'm getting a little tiny bit more bold. A bit more forward, and a bit more open with the people I may be interested in.

  7. Do you tend to fear more tangible things, such as objects and things you can see, or are you more likely to fear something implied, such as things that may be lurking in the dark or situations that may happen?

    I spend too much time thinking and tend to scare myself away from doing something that I think I should.

    Things possibly lurking in the dark would scare me a little, but it would also intrigue me. I've got a curious nature that almost always overcomes my fears.

    Basically, I'm nosy.

  8. What is one of your greatest fears?

    If you've read some of my dream entries (especially one of the latest ones titled "Family Trouble") then you might know that one of my greatest fears is losing my mother.

    I'm also afraid of bees, which is strange 'cause I want to study sharks, and you'd think I'd be afraid of sharks if I were afraid of bees.

Submitted to Saturday 8 by Calynda.


Fear is a strange thing with me. I'm sure I've mentioned before that I don't scare easily. I don't even startle easily, unless I'm tired or otherwise braindead.

As far as my views on diseases and violence go, I said they were unpopular 'cause they are. Basically, the human race is overpopulating the earth. If you've studies biology, you would probably know about the J-curve which is the growth potential for a certain species in their habitat. The J-curve is also just theoretical because of the way nature works. Each habitat can only support a certain number of the species. Once it reaches that number, natural selection or some other thing helps to keep the numbers down.

Now, in many of the other species, they get preyed upon, or their homes are demolished by humans. But, humans seem to think (in general) that they can overcome anything. We've got our medicines, our guns and weapons to defend ourselves from larger beasts out there. We've got our protections against weather and such.

So, natural selection as it's usually talked about, doesn't really apply to the humans. Something else has to come in and keep the population in control. That's where the more disturbing sides of human nature come in.

For example, all the school shootings that happened a few years ago.

Mother Nature also plays a roll by creating diseases that we've never seen. They help a bit, until we're able to break it down and create a cure.

The theory makes me sound very cold, but I'm not really. It's just something that makes sense to me. I have a hard time understanding why people have to fight, and I have a very hard time dealing with death, especially the death of someone young.

It's just basically and answer that I've come up with to the question that everyone asks in troubled times. "Why is this happening?"

I'll step down off the podium now.

In other news, Margo and I are working on an updated version of "The List." We've got a little less than 10, but we're going to think about it a little more to see if we can get 10 people.

And . . .

I spent most of this afternoon/evening rearranging my poetry section of my site. I created a "favorites" list in the main menu to try to draw attention to some of the ones I think are a little better than the others.

We'll see how it goes.

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose