On Dreams
Friday, May. 17, 2002 ~ 6:13 p.m.

first | previous | random | next | last

Well, today still has a little while to go, but I haven't accomplished much. I did watch a movie though. And I did a diary design for Pipey. It's not up yet, but it will be soon.

I thought about dreams today. I thought about the differences between times I write them out and times I don't. It seems that, like most things, I have an easier time remembering something when I write it out rather than just thinking about it and trying to remember it. Maybe that's why I don't remember my dreams when I don't have a chance to write them out right away. There have been very few dreams that I've remembered for most the day that I didn't write out in the morning.

When I do write out my dreams, I seem to be able to see images from the dream when I think about it. I can see the scenes, colors and textures. I can hear the voices. The memory of the dream is so much clearer, so much sharper. And it's not just for that day. There are dreams that I wrote out last year that I can still see if I think about them. Maybe it's just how I write them out. People always say that every little detail in a dream is important. Everything, colors, personalities, room arrangements, people, clothes. The list goes on.

I seem to be able to remember lots of little details, and so I write them all down. I write a dream like a story. I try not to leave out any detail if I can help it. One of my old poetry teachers thought that the reason I could remember all the details was because I wrote. I was used to paying attention to detail, and so I did it subconsciously.

I wish I could remember all my dreams. It might help me to figure out what's actually going on in my head.

I really should be doing laundry right now, but I think I just want to sleep. Maybe I'll take a nap for a few hours and do laundry tonight. I get to close tomorrow, so I don't have to get up early. I can afford to stay up late if I want.

I should at least collect my laundry now, while it's still light. I still haven't rewired my ceiling fann yet, so once it gets dark, the computer gives off the only light in my room.

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose