Merit Badges and Stupid People
2001-07-20 ~ 6:53 p.m.

first | previous | random | next | last

I got my third Merit Badge at work today . . . two more and I get $100 . . . I got the one today 'cause I was on my last break, sitting just outside the entrance door . . . I was sitting there 'cause there was a nice chair and a table facing the wall and I wanted to work on one of my stories . . . so I was there . . . writing a little bit . . . and this guy comes out and says something to me. So, being my friendly self, I turn to say something back and all . . . and this guy has with him a flat bed cart with a tile saw and the stand that went with it.

The reason that was odd was 'cause I had returned that saw on Monday, the department hadn't put it away and it was back at returns this morning, and I had just talked to the department guy, Marcus, about it (yes, Marcus was originally on "the List"). So I asked the guy nicely if he had just bought the tile saw (the two items were on the cart exactly like I had put them on there on Monday and they are a little over $1000 together) . . . The guy never did give me a straight answer . . . he started commenting on the motorcycle that belongs to one of the guys who works at the Special Services Desk . . .

So anyway . . . he talks to me a bit more (by this time I had put aside my writing completely and turned to face him). He tells me that he's waiting on his wife 'cause he didn't drive a big enough car . . . and he acted like he saw her, and started pushing the cart away . . . at that point, I went inside and Marcus was right there along with the returns cashier . . . I asked if anyone had sold the tile saw and no one had so Marcus and I went out to the parking lot. The guy was no where to be seen (which I found funny 'cause he seemed to have a little trouble walking when he was talking with me) . . . we walked further out toward the street and there was the tile saw and stand . . . on the cart, between two cars . . . sitting all on it's lonesome . . . . absolutely noone was around . . .

Now . . . if you had just paid a little over $1000 for something . . . would you just leave it sitting in the middle of a public parking lot with no one around? . . . I most definitely wouldn't . . .

I never once asked to see the guys reciept . . . or insisted on getting a straight answer on whether or not he just bought it . . . I was just nice and talked to the guy . . . I scared him apparently though . . . Marcus thinks that he didn't think that I worked at the store . . . since I was on my break and didn't have my apron on or anything . . . I was just sitting out there . . .

Some people just have no brains . . .

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose