Champagne and asking for help
Saturday, Jul. 20, 2002 ~ 1:00 a.m.

first | previous | random | next | last

That was probably one of the funnier things that's gone on today. My brother and his friend, Joel, decided that they wanted some champagne, so they decided to open the bottle(s) up. My brother tried to open the first one and couldn't. So I took the bottle and went to an area of the house where the ceiling was high and the floor was tiled. The cork hit the ceiling and the champagne went all over the floor. When my brother was attempting to open the bottle he had it pointed toward the window. I asked him if he was going to break stuff. He didn't realize how much pressure was actually contained in a champagne bottle. I'm just glad he couldn't get the bottle open. He would have learned the hard way.

But anyway. I went to the movies tonight 'cause it's movie night with my friends down here. They've gotten into going to the movies every Friday night. We went to see K-19. I actually really enjoyed that movie. Karen and Tony liked it too, but they said that it was difficult to watch 'cause of some of the scenes. I guess they get queasy easily. (Why doesn't that word look right?) I've never really had any trouble watching scenes like that. I don't really have trouble watching any scenes in movies. It makes me wonder if I'd be able to look on that sort of stuff in person. I can be fairly detatched at times. Perhaps all that time when I couldn't make myself feel anything prepared me for stuff like that. I know that I'll have to see the insides of animals and such, especially if I keep with the Marine Biology major in school.

Joel (my brother's friend) is staying the night tonight and they're watching Black Hawk Down. My brother says that Joel wanted to watch it. That could be true, but my brother's watched that movie so many times since I've been here.

I don't know if tonight was the last time that I'd see Dave. It doesn't feel like I'm saying my goodbyes. I wonder if I'll regret anything when I leave. You know, things I wished I had done or said. Though, I could always say things after I get across to the other coast. I won't have much of a chance to do things once I get over there though.

I think I may try to budget a trip over here once a year or so. I don't really want to lose touch with my friends now like I did when I moved down here from Vacaville. Though, maybe that move and the loss of those friends paved the way for my pending happiness. I suppose the saying "it gets worse before it can get better" is a little true. I thought I'd never be able to forgive my parents for moving me right in the middle of high school and interrupting a portion of my life, but if they hadn't moved me when they did and if Kieth hadn't shut me out, I would have never been able to go through with this move. I would have been bound by my heart and I would have stayed. I would have been miserable.

Who knows. Maybe I'll still be miserable when I finally get over to Delaware, but I think that living in a place so full of history and stories, I'll have something to take my mind off of the stress that I've been feeling lately. Of course, being near my family will help as well. My dad and stepmom have always been more supporting and understanding of my choices than my mother and stepdad. They've always been more open and I've felt more comfortable talking to them about guys or anything else that may have come up, though I still won't talk about money or ask them for monetary assistance. I just don't have it in me to ask someone to help me out in that way. I suppose that'll be my downfall. I don't like to ask for help.

Oh yeah. My 23rd birthday's in 9 days, but I won't be here with a computer. Well, I may be able to jump online and put a short entry up, but we'll see.

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose