I'm back . . . sorta
Friday, Aug. 09, 2002 ~ 10:13 p.m.

first | previous | random | next | last

It's amazing really. This year has pretty much flown by and here I am talking like it's December 31st already. I asure you it's not. And I haven't gone crazy on the way across country. It just dawned on me that I already had to archive the summer entries and I'm now onto the fall section for this year. It's scary in a way 'cause people are right. Most of them say that the older you get, the faster time seems to flow. I've definitely found that to be true, but maybe that's 'cause I'm not in school anymore. I wonder if time will slow down again when I go back next year.

Obviously I made it across country alright, but updates are still not going to be as frequent as I'd like 'cause I don't have my computer yet and I don't have my own internet access. My dad and stepmom don't have voicemail and they only have one phone line which means that whenever someone's online, the phone is busy for anyone trying to get through. I'll be fixing that problem very soon I think. I have to be able to get online whenever I can. I'm thinking about getting either DSL or Cable internet service. I haven't quite decided which one.

I'm not sure if anyone really wants to read anything that I'm writing in here, but all I have to say about that is "tough" and "get over it."

The train ride across country was interesting to say the least. I might think about doing it again so long as I got a sleeper car instead of coach seats.

When I originally made my reservations I had planned to leave on the 24th, arrive in Chicago on the 26th and stay there for two days to visit my mom and my stepdad. I would have then left on the 28th and arrived in Delaware on my birthday, July 29th.

I didn't end up doing that. Shortly after I had made my reservations, I got a call from my stepdad telling me that it'd probably be best if I came to visit some other time. You see, my mother was going to be out of town and my stepdad felt that driving the 4 hours to Chicago and 4 hours back to Decatur was just too much trouble for two little days. So, I changed my tickets. I thought about postponing my departure from San Diego for two days and still arrive on the 29th, but then I thought about how non-fun it was going to be to stay at my aunts house without my computer and such, so I changed my final arrival date to the 27th.

That turned out to be a very wise thing. I'm sure most of you heard about the Amtrak that derailed near Washington DC on July 29th. My brother called me that day, not only to wish me a happy birthday, but also to tell me that I picked a good time to travel. I hadn't heard about it til he told me. Once I got off the phone with him, I went to the computer to check out the news stories about it.

I was supposed to be on that exact train. What an interesting birthday that might have made. Of course I wouldn't have thought that had I actually been there when it happened. Being the nosy person that I am, I checked out the pictures to see which cars tipped over. I think the lounge car was one of the ones that did and I was pretty much camped out in the lounge car my entire trip. I think I would have been hurting had I decided to postpone my departure, but that's alright.

There were times on the train that I did get nervous. I had never been on a train before for any long distances so I wasn't used to the noises that they regularily make. I suppose I could compare it to how some people get reall jumpy and nervous on planes when they run into a little bit of turbulance whereas I just shrug it off 'cause I had traveled on planes all of my life.

No matter though. I'm here and my stuff will be here soon. I don't have a job yet, but I'm pretty confident that I'll be getting one soon. I applied at the "enemy," Lowe's, but a job's a job. Besides, Lowe's wants to hire me for a position they call Front Line Team Leader or something like that. Basically, I'd be supervising cashiers, returns cashiers, special servis desk and head cashiers. I'd be working opposite the salaried department supervisor so it's sort of like the FES position at Home Depot.

I also applied at the local race track/slots place as a vault cashier. I really don't know which one I'd like to take, but I think I'm leaning more towards Lowe's because I missed that sort of supervisor work.

Ah well.

I just figured that I'd come in here and ramble some 'cause I haven't done it in a while and I've been itching to write a diary entry lately, though I don't think I said much of what had been going through my head when I had all the earlier urgings. They just didn't come to me now.

I think once I get my computer and get the DVD rom and the other hard drive in there, I'll type up all the other entries from when I had no computer as well as the few entries I did when I was going across country. I didn't write very much then, I spent most my time looking at the scenery and reading.

But I'll go now and give my hands a rest.

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose