Reading
Monday, Aug. 09, 2004 ~ 3:56 p.m.

first | previous | random | next | last

Sad stuff. My gold/supergold has run out and I can't afford to reinstate it right at this particular moment.

I wonder if all the old comments got deleted when that happened.

I've been checking out quite a few books from the library lately. I've pretty much been going through their collection of David Eddings books. Right now, I'm in the middle of the Redemption of Althalus. I finished all of the Elenium and the Tamuli as well. I also checked out Regina's Song which is much, much different than everything else that I've read from him.

For those of you who don't know who David Eddings is, his primary subject/topic/etc is fantasy. They create worlds and populate them with various types of people. Sometimes he reaches back through our history to get ideas for these people. There's always a hero and a quest or two. They're very well written books and they're quick reading. The characters are likable and all.

Regina's Song was entirely different though. And, it was very good. I want to get it in hardback to add to my collection. It's set in present day Seattle and it's written in first person. The main character is a guy named Mark who was a big brother type figure to two twins. One of the twins was violently murdered when they were high school seniors and at that time, the other twin reverted to speaking "twin" and was sent to a mental institution. When they were growing up, the twins were so much alike that their mother couldn't even tell them apart and when the surviving twin started to speak english again, the first thing she asked was "where am I? Who am I?"

No one could be sure which of the twins had been murdered, but they all assumed it had been the dominate of the two, Regina.

"Renata", the other twin, showed a vast improvement after Mark came to visit her, and after time, she was put on "outpatient" status. She decided she wanted to go the University of Washington where Mark was student teaching and working on his doctorate.

With some reluctance, her parents let Renata go live in Seattle with her aunt Mary. Mark got a room a few blocks away from Mary's house so he could keep an eye on the girl. They decided that Renata should audit Mark's class at first so school wouldn't be too stressful.

Things were going well for a while, then Renata started having nightmares and bad days. These never lasted for more than one day and she was chipper and all the next.

While all of that was going on, there were a series of murders in the Seattle area. At first, they started out as seeming gang and drug related, then they started branching out and getting more random.

I think that's about as much as I can say without giving too much away. It's a shorter book - only about 370 pages, but it's good. And, I've said that before.

It looks as if the Eddings' are starting a new series of books. The Library had a very new book that's from a series I haven't heard about yet. I'm going to try to hold off until they get the whole thing written. I hate waiting for books to come out...

Speaking of... when is the 6th Harry Potter book coming out?

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose