"Redneck Avoidance"
Friday, Sept. 23, 2005 ~ 10:43 p.m.

first | previous | random | next | last

I figured it was time to take the piratey stuff down even though I don't really have much to talk about. I'm glad it's Friday. It's day one of my three day "redneck avoidance" time. My place of employment is right nest to Dover Downs and twice a year the NASCAR (Non Athletic Sport Centered Around Rednecks) race comes to town. Along with it, come so many rednecks it's not even funny. They start piling in a good week or so in advance. Luckily, the vendors only start piling in the Wednesday before the race, so at least we have full use of our parking lot up until then. The week before the races, more than half of our customers are those that have traveled in from various states with their campers and race car driver shirts. And, more than half of those smell like they had bathed in a tub of coors light for their morning bath (this being before noon).

I try my very best to take the three days off that there are actually vehicles moving around in circles on the race track. If I can manage it, I will take the Thursday off as well, but this go around I didn't have any extra time. I didn't even have enough time to really take Friday off, but I'm gonna suck up the lack of cash on the next paycheck because I really, really didn't want to be there.

So, I have a three day weekend this week, then I work monday thru friday and have the weekend off next week too. October 1st is our 1 year anniversary. We don't know exactly what we're doing yet, but we do have one thing in the plans already. We have reservations at The Melting Pot in Wilmington. I can't wait. We're going to snack on something in the morning just to hold us over, then we're going to starve ourselves all day until our reservations at 4:15pm.

One day here soon I'm going to put up pictures of my kitty cats. You will all learn to love them like I do. I'm so glad they're here. I think the funniest things are watching my cat that's heavy enough to make the stairs creak on his way up or down, skitter across the laminate floor chasing a toy. We watched him almost slide his head into the outter corner of a wall today. I'm so glad my babies are home finally.

I think I'm going to go play some Sims2 for a little while. Mike's sleeping and I'm not quite tired yet.

Until then.

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose