Drowning
Wednesday, Sept. 28, 2005 ~ 12:11 a.m.

first | previous | random | next | last

I should try to get on here earlier in the day. This after midnight stuff can't always be.

Today (being Tuesday the 27th) was a very rough day at work. I've been back two days and I don't feel like I've done anything more than run around trying to catch up with a million things that keep falling into the pile. I'm going to drown if they don't get other people in that are willing to deal with some of these things. It's gotten to the point today that I can't remember if I actually did everything that I was supposed to do when I got in at noon. I can't remember if I called everyone back that I was suppose to call back today.

Yesterday, I had a customer that called and asked if her borders had come in yet. According to the computer, they hadn't, but that they were to have shipped out on 9-19, so they should have been here. I told her to let me call and get information today and call her back when I found out what was going on. I called the company. They said that it had shipped out on the 19th from chicago and I got the tracking number. I called UPS to track the package and was informed that it was delivered to our store on the 21st and signed for by our daytime reciever (Kevin .. one of the two who picked up the kitty cats). I asked Kevin and he said that he didn't sign for the border 'cause it wasn't there. I tried to let him know that this was last week, not three weeks ago, but he was in a hurry to go. He had to go pick his son up from school or something. Finally, I find them up at the service desk in one of the special order bins where it should be. I put notes in the system as to where this order is and call the customer to let her know that it was in and what had happened with it.

I just feel like I can't catch up right now. I remembered when I worked for T.J.Maxx a few times today. I remembered that on days like today, I would volunteer to take any damaged breakables back to the "breakage bin." The sound of breaking glass is very therapeutic I think, and when you took stuff back to the breakage barrel (which was really just a trash can) not only did you get to hear that object breaking, but you got to hear the sound of all the glass that was already in the barrel breaking more. It is probably the best sound in the world for days like today.

When I had a roommate at the apartment, he used to tell me that if I ever got the urge to break glass, that he would go out to the street below with a broom and let me hurl the glasses and anything else I wanted to break onto the street and he would gladly sweep them up ... just as long as I aimed far away from him.

I'm afraid of what tomorrow's going to be like. I fixed the schedule so we at least have someone in the department before 10 in the morning. This morning was ridiculous (because that's the word of the day) because Alma came in at 10:30, both Toni and Sean came in at 11, and I came in at 12. So within an hour and a half, all four people who were working in the department today came in. We had no one in before 10:30 and no one in after 9.

There was one highlight of my day though (besides finally being able to come home and watch Mike fall asleep during our shows like I told him he was going to and he kept denying it). My mother got me some Tupperware stuff and it came today. I got the Marinading thingy that can also hold lots of christmas cookies, two cereal containers so we can quit having stale cereal, and a speghetti tube so I can buy the bags of speghetti instead of the boxes and prepare just as much as we need rather than everything.

I also got confirmation that I'm getting some DVD's. I joined the Columbia House DVD club. We're getting the first 7 dvd's for $27 and just have to buy three more I think. I can afford to buy three more over the next year from them. Then I'll cancel and start doing something else.

I wonder if they have the Coupling DVD's. I love that show.

I should probably go chew on a Tums or two and get to bed.

Until then.

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose