roadwork at 7:30 am
Wednesday, Oct. 22, 2003 ~ 11:01 a.m.

first | previous | random | next | last

I had plans on sleeping in today because I haven't been feeling well and all of that, so I set my alarm to 10:30 'cause I went to bed at 1:00 or so.

At 7:30 they were doing road work across the street. And it wasn't just talking and moving equipment around, it was breaking up concrete with one of those noisy ass machines. It woke me up out of a dream (which I'll share in a minute or three). I turned up my stereo and played the CD's that were in there. I didn't have any music in the stereo. I only had two nature sounds CD's - Ocean Waves and Rain and Thunder - so I could play both of them at louder levels and still get to sleep. And, they blocked out most the sound from across the street.

So, the dream:

It started with me on the phone talking to a guy named Jeremy, asking him about what he was working and where he was working and all of that. It was going to be his birthday and he was working on his birthday. Apparently he worked for a Lowe's up in Canada.

So, the next day I drive all the way up to Canada to where his store is and it's very much different than any other Lowe's store anywhere. He has no clue that I'm coming. I get there and I ask for him at the entrance (which is at the front of a huge lawn type area where parts of it had been covered over for winter). He comes up, I say hi and ask about the store. He acts like I'm some customer and is very polite about showing me around the "grounds" and back to where the "store" is. The store is in separate buildings based on department or something. One of his friends comes out and introduces himself to me and asks what my name is. I tell him, knowing that Jeremy will know me by my name (he had never met me before this, just talked on the phone and all). Jeremy hears my name and stops in his tracks, turns and gives me one of those half amused, half psuedo-annoyed that I drove all that way for his birthday, then he came up and gave me a hug.

As the day went on we chatted and ended up talking about some computer game that we were going to play. I called Daniel to see if he wanted to play it as well (via internet or whatever) and he asked where I was and all. Next thing I knew he had driven there and was bitching at me about how I shouldn't be up there, how he was worried that something might happen to me, blah blah blah. He wouldn't let me drive anywhere and he was going to take me home.

And that was when they started road work across the street. I had another dream a few nights ago that I forget most of, but in it, Daniel said that he had to start being careful because he couldn't afford to lose me too.

In the dream this morning, "Jeremy" had represented a guy named Phil who helps admin my message board. I don't know why his name was Jeremy in my dream, but it was.

I should get ready for work. I don't want to go and I was seriously considering calling in sick, but silly me and my unreasonable sense of responsibility and care for the people who work for me, can't.

So, it's off to Hell where I'm not going to talk to anyone about concerns or anything work related anymore.

Oh!

Happy Birthday James!!!!!

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose