Kayla, boxes and bad reality dating shows
Tuesday, Dec. 02, 2003 ~ 12:50 a.m.

first | previous | random | next | last

It's December already. That's a little disturbing. This year has pretty much flown by. And this episode of the Drew Carey show that's on at the moment is very odd. But that's alright.

I finished the hexagon box tonight. I have to do a second coat of polyurethane on it tomorrow and then it's completely done. I think I want to see if they'll sell somewhere. I'll probably take one in to show Diana at Bell, Book and Candle. If I got serious about selling, I could probably finish at least 5 a week and if I sold them for even $10 a piece, that's $200 more a month. And, I could sell some on Ebay too.

I'm just thinking out loud I guess.

I wanted to save this post that I just completed at Terre Haute. I'm bringing my very oldest character back into play and this was the introductory post for her.

~*~*~*~*~

A form moved quietly amongst the headstones that shadowed the cemetery. Most people stayed away from this place after the sun set. In fact, most people stayed away from the cemetery completely. Kayla didn't mind the restless spirits. She had not known them all while they lived, but she knew their spirits now. More importantly, they knew her.

The tavern had been very busy lately and Kayla was able to hire a decent sized management staff. She rarely had to run the tap room, and for that she was greatful. She enjoyed getting to know those who visited the tavern, but her mind had been restless for the last few weeks.

She traveled the same path that she had each month for the past three years and as she approached her destination, her ring started to glow softly. Rhianne was happy to see her.

"Where are your babies?"

The voice came from the air infront of her.

"You know I don't bring them here Rhianne. I'm not sure how receptive they would be to the energies here, or what those energies would do to them." Kayla smiled for a moment, then continued. "They just turned three though. They've gotten so big."

"Children have a tendency to do that. Have you spoken to their father lately?"

"I haven't. I'm not sure where Ash is. I hope he's okay though. I do worry about him and I wish he could be around more often. He's missed so much with the children and I know they miss him, but that may be more of my effect on them than anything else."

"Perhaps. They have your power you know. They've tapped into it already. You might want to take care when taking them to the tap room. Kalana especially. Komei hasn't grasped the gift as well as she has, but that's to be expected. Women are usually better empaths."

Kayla paused a moment before speaking again. A question needed to be asked and tonight was the night to ask it.

"Rhianne. Have I done what you saw for me? When you sent me away from the village so many years ago?"

"I told you it would be something that you would do naturally, and you have. Damian was the result."

Kayla's eyes grew thoughtful, "so being naive was what I was supposed to do?"

"Yes. Damian had to be born and if you hadn't been blind to his father's courting practices, he wouldn't have been."

"Then the purpose of my life has been fulfilled." Her voice carried a tone of finality.

"Of course not dear. Your twins need you to guide them. They will be important later. You are as you have always been, the guide and the healer."

Kayla smiled at this, then tilted her head toward the air in a respectful manner.

"As you have always been my guide Rhianne. I should get back to the children. They're playing with Deacon and probably driving him insane. Rose would be upset with me if I returned him to her that way."

Kayla turned to leave, but paused, turning back.

"Do you see Ash coming home soon?"

"He is beyond my sight. Have a good night and kiss the children for me."

Kayla just nodded as she felt Rhianne's spirit leave. It had gotten easier over the past three years. At first it was very difficult for Kayla to speak to the bodiless voice. For so long she had relied on Rhianne to be there when she needed her and it took almost a year to realize that, though she had died, Rhianne was still there.

Before she passed through the gate to the cemetery, Kayla turned and bid farewell to the spirits before heading back home to the tavern.

~*~*~*~*~

I spent all day today playing around on Neopets. That's about all that I did. Except some chores around the apartment and I repotted my christmas cactus today so it's no longer in the pot it was purchased in. I also poked some holed in the root area of my leafy plant in hopes that the leaves will stop turning yellow.

But yeah. I think I'm gonna go to bed now 'cause the bad reality dating shows are coming on.

Two more days 'til the third anniversary.

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose