Fun conversations
Saturday, Nov. 08, 2003 ~ 10:07 p.m.

first | previous | random | next | last

Well, today I started at Home Depot for the second time. This orientation is quite a bit different than the last one. It's smaller for one, but I think that has a lot to do with the fact that there aren't as many stores in the area as there were when I was out in Southern California. But that's alright.

One of the changes that I like from the last time that I worked there is the change in the vision plan. The change being is that there is actually a plan now instead of just a discount program offered when you get medical insurance.

Anyway. Nothing was really all that exciting there today. I've been through it all before and I learned that I have to go through all my training again, but that's alright.

I almost forgot about the Eclipse tonight, but Linda called me shortly before 8 and reminded me. Shortly after she called me, Bob called me from work to see if I was watching it. It was very nice of him to think of me.

I mentioned it to my brother after I got off the phone with Linda and, at first, he asked what it was and said something like "who cares about that stuff?" He was being a typical 9 year old brother. Then he got into it a little more and we ended up sitting outside for about an hour chatting and such.

I got to dig into the "useless knowledge" section of my brain over the course of the conversation. We talked about the moon and the stars and stuff like that. Then he asked me about the tooth fairy which morphed into a conversation about fae and little people in general. Then we moved onto superstitions and myths and vampires.

He had a hard time wrapping his brain around the cultural differences in superstitions. The example that I gave him was the superstitions about black cats. The general sentiment toward black cats here in the states is that they're bad luck. In England, it's the opposite. Black cats are considered good luck whereas cats that are completely white are considered bad luck. However, if you get a white hair off of a completely black cat, a black cat can be the source of good luck here in the states.

I couldn't remember many of the superstitions that I used to know, but it's been a while since I've studied them.

So yeah. That was my evening. I sat ourside, hudddled under blankets, having mystical and fairytale conversations with my little brother. Fun times.

It actually completely overshadows the other things from the day. It overshadows orientation and it overshadows my thoughts on the stuff with Daniel.

I've decided that I am going to talk to him. I don't know when yet. It's going to be a feeling thing. It has to feel like the right time and I have no idea what that's going to feel like. I trust my abilities in that area to tell me when it's time.

As much as I might want to, I can't just walk away. I can't just let it go. I have to talk to him. I can't continue to not talk to him, and it's not because of anything to do with him. I'm afraid that if I don't talk to him, I'll get to the point where there is no turning back. I'll get to the point where there's no way to get back to where we could be, and I don't want to get that far.

So I guess if you merge yesterday's entry with the poem from a few days ago you'll get the general conflict that's going on inside my head at the moment. Really, it's the same conflict that's been going on in my head since April or May. It just goes through these periods where it's more "vocal" and demanding of attention.

But, I should go to sleep now. I have my second day of orientation tomorrow, then I have two days of Decor training, then one day in the department and one day off. Then I have a half day of training and day and a half in the department again. I'll have cashier college at some point as well. But that's alright.

'til then.

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose