Learning more and more
Sunday, Nov. 30, 2003 ~ 9:44 p.m.

first | previous | random | next | last

The voice came over my speakers again a little later last night. It said something about an apology I think, but I really can't remember. I need to pay more attention to this stuff.

I got two more box tops carved tonight. I had to restain one of them so I couldn't polyurethane it tonight, but I got the first coat of urethane on the other one. These boxes are getting easier with each on that I've done. Which is to be expected if you think about it, but that's alright.

I didn't leave work 'til 3:45 today. I went in at 8, but I was supposed to be off at 2, so I didn't take a lunch. I stayed 'cause I was working on the paint department - getting the wingstacks in place and the desk set up. I did quite a bit of merchandising with wingstacks, clip strips and such. I also got the "now serving" number thingy all wired up. I don't know how much use it's actually going to get, but that's alright. It was fun trying to figure out how to wire it all together - and watching Aaron try to strip the wire ends with his very dull and chewed up knife blade. For some reason he seemed surprised that I offered to do the electrical work for that and kept asking if I was sure I didn't need any help. Eventually he'll figure out that I'm fairly self-sufficient. Granted, this was the first time that I wired an electrical thing, but I did put my computer together and it still runs and hasn't taken up any bad habits, like smoking.

Every day I learn more and more. That's one of the nice things about working in a home improvement place. There's a wealth of knowledge to be had if you just take the initiative to get it.

Tomorrow I think I'm going to carve the top to the last box I've stained. After they're done, I'll figure out if I want to line the insides of them, and if I do, I'll decide whether I want to line the entire inside, or just the bottoms. I've been thinking I should probably line the bottoms 'cause you can see where the glue was that's holding them together. Plus, it'll give it a finished look provided I can cut the felt well enough.

I finished my disposable camera today (the one that has the pictures from the trip to Pittsburgh). I had found a cemetery on Denny's road a week or so ago and went back there today to take some pictures. It's a very small cemetery right off the road. It's got trees around it, but not so many that it seems shut off from everything else.

I need to see if I can't find that cemetery I passed when I first went exploring down south. The problem is that I can't remember what highways I went on. I think I went down on Rt 13, but the cemetery was off of another route. I think it was 40-something, but I can't remember.

I won't do that 'til I have another disposable camera though.

I have a headache and I think I'm going to go attempt to sleep it off. I don't work tomorrow and I'm going to bed at 10. How sad is that?

Oh well, at least I'll be able to get up at a decent hour tomorrow so I can get some more cleaning done. I think I'm going to clean the bathrooms tomorrow, and maybe get all the extra cardboard and such out of here. I also think I'm going to start packaging Juel's and Sandra's stuff up to get it out to them (even if some of it is going to be a little more than a year late getting there).

It's sleepy time now. I'm going to go turn on my ocean waves CD and drift off to sleep and have dreams and stuff.

'til then.

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose