No New Job
Friday, Sept. 09, 2005 ~ 5:18 p.m.

first | previous | random | next | last

After a day of thinking and talking to various people, I've decided that I'm just going to stay where I'm at. I don't want to work a salaried position and it just doesn't feel right to me. There were a variety of things that just feel off and as much as I would like to be making more money, I'm not sure I would be happier there than I will be at work if things continue to go in the direction that they're headed. I really got the feeling that the store manager was just offering me the job because I was there and maybe he felt he needed to. Even if it was just to get someone in the flooring department that knew what they were doing.

Then, of course, there was the conversation with Coralene that I had today. She said that there was no amount of money that he could offer that would make her want to work for him.

Basically, if he could offer me the amount of money that I want to be an hourly associate, I would probably jump at the chance. As it stands though, I'd have to take a $2-3 pay cut to go work there.

Paul was happy when I said that I was probably going to not take the job. He's likely to be our next department head, so things will be moving much smoother. And things in the store have been great with Herb being out of the store on a forced vacation.

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose