List of Randomness across three states
Wednesday, Nov. 05, 2003 ~ 12:23 a.m.

first | previous | random | next | last

So yeah. I'm back from Pittsburgh (with an "h" as opposed to the "pittsburg" that I mentioned in my last entry. I'm not even sure where Pittsburg without an "h" is, but it wasn't where we went).

Here's a list o' stuff. Actually, I called it the "List of Randomness" in my little purple journal that I take with me everywhere.

Anyway....here's the list (as close to time order as possible)

Nov 1st

-Random farm animals at the side of the road - Bo Peep's Lone Lost Sheep (MD)

-Bo Peep - Man in cross country search of lone sheep...We probably should have stopped and told him we saw his sheep. (MD)

-Graffiti that said "Trust Jesus" (PA)

-Big headed dog

-Land of one radio station - 104.3 - country (PA)

-Falling deer sign (PA)

-Old buildings and earthquakes

Nov. 2nd

-Green triceratops with painted flowers on front porch of funeral home (Picture)

-Eerily quiet Applebee's

-(at Applebees) book reading "date"

Nov. 3rd

-Lady taking a bath with a pirate cat

-Elvis bottle

Nov. 4th

-Camper Graveyard (PA)

-House on wheels (MD)

-Trash/Dump truck with "Jesus is coming soon" (Picture)

So yeah. That's the list of randomness. I don't think I forgot anything. After we saw the sheep and then the guy we decided was it's owner, I decided to keep track of things.

I guess I'll start at the beginning of the list and start giving some explanations (which probably aren't going to be as much fun as some things that one's mind would come up with, but c'est la vie.)

Nov 1st

-Random farm animals at the side of the road - Bo Peep's Lone Lost Sheep (MD)

So, Liz and I had left her house and started our journey. We were travelling on down the road talking and such when we happened to notice this odd occurance. There, at the side of the road, no farm around and not fenced in anyway, was a sheep. Just one sheep trying to eat a stick. It was just a little odd.

-Bo Peep - Man in cross country search of lone sheep...We probably should have stopped and told him we saw his sheep. (MD)

We stopped at a gas station for a snack somewhere along Rt 70 (which we later found out for sure was in Maryland) and on the way back to 70, there was this guy walking along the side of the road. He had a hikers backpack on and looked as if he had been hiking across country. He had two ski pole looking things and we decided that he must have been looking for his lost sheep. It wasn't until later that we thought about telling him that we had seen his sheep and by then we had already reached our destination.

-Graffiti that said "Trust Jesus" (PA)

There's not much more to say about this. I think we were getting on the PA Turnpike when we saw this lovely bit of "art." It just struck us as funny. Because, as Liz said, "I'm sure Jesus was all about vandalism."

-Big headed dog

We stopped and got gas at a service station along the turnpike. We went inside to see where we were and to stretch our legs a bit and there was one of those claw machines with the toys. Inside there was a beagle toy with a very large head. This head was about the same size as the body and it just looked odd. My camera was in the car though, so I couldn't take a picture, and Liz tried to grab it, but missed.

It was Miko with a big head.

-Land of one radio station - 104.3 - country (PA)

This wasn't overly odd if you consider the fact that we were in the mountains, but it seems a lot odder now that we've come back home. I don't remember there being any spot along the way home where we only had the one station.

-Falling deer sign (PA)

Once again, on the turnpike. At various points along the road there were either falling rock signs or deer signs, both of which made sense since we were up in the mountains, but there was one spot that didn't really make sense. The first sign was a deer warning sign, then about 20 ft further was a falling rock sign. Okay, so maybe there was just a rocky part coming up. Not very odd.

Right after the falling rock sign, though, was a solid wall of rock. No deer could have come through that at all. We figured that the only way we'd have to watch for deer was if they were jumping off the top of this wall o' rock and that the signs were meant to be used together for a "falling deer" warning sign (since I'm sure they don't make one of those).

-Old buildings and earthquakes

I'll probably explain this tomorrow. It has nothing to do with random events. Just a thought that I had about why there were no "old" buildings in California.

Nov. 2nd

-Green triceratops with painted flowers on front porch of funeral home (Picture)

This one will have a picture as soon as I finish out the roll. It's just what it says, but after an inquiry or two, I found out that there had been some dino theme around Pittsburgh and that the dino's had been auctioned off. Apparently this funeral home had won an auction.

-Eerily quiet Applebee's

It was full of people and the game was on the tv's, but there was virtually no noise in the restaurant. Odd.

-(at Applebees) book reading "date"

Liz and I were leaving Applebee's (after ordering drinks, appetizers and desserts) and we passed by this table that two people were sitting at. Now, usually there's nothing odd about two people sitting at a table in a restaurant for dinner. What was odd was that both of these people were reading books. You would think that when you went out to dinner with someone, you would talk to this person instead of pulling out a book and sitting in silence, completely ignoring the other person.

Liz said it must have been a bad blind date.

Nov. 3rd

-Lady taking a bath with a pirate cat

-Elvis bottle

Both these things were things that Tom and I saw while we waited for Liz in some mall type place. They were in a shop window. The Elvis bottle is very difficult to explain and unfortunately I didn't get a picture of these things because there was a lady watching us at the door of the shop while she was talking to another lady.

The pirate cat thing was painted onto a piece of plastic I think. It was an image of a lady taking a bath. on the ege of the bathtub was an orange tabby cat. Not really so odd. But then I noticed that the cat had an eye patch.

Nov. 4th

-Camper Graveyard (PA)

That's what it looked like anyway. It was almost like a mobile home park, but instead of trailers, people parked their campers there. SOme of these things were looking very permanent with swingsets set up outside and built on wooden porches.

-House on wheels (MD)

I'm not talking about a mobile home or a camper here. I'm talking about a house house. Someone must have really, really liked their house. They had it all proped on top of a trailer ready for a truck to come and pick up.

-Trash/Dump truck with "Jesus is coming soon" (Picture)

Once again, just what it says. Hopefully one of the three pictures I snapped in it's direction comes out okay. I can't be sure because it was driving in front of us and it's not very safe to go and hang out the window of a moving car to take a picture of something.

That's about it though. Other than people doing things, but seeing as how they were members of James' family, it's fun and to be expected. I'll post pictures as soon as I get them developed.

We tried to find some odd things as we were travelling through Delaware, but we couldn't find anything. Liz felt as if we were picking on Maryland and Pennsylvania.

I think I'm going to go to bed now though. I'm sleepy and I'm having a hard time typing.

I'll get into the last few things tomorrow sometime I'm sure.

'til then.

0 comments so far

host

moon phases

Dark Petals on a Pale Rose